Complete NEWB question on freebe 3GS

ntjoe1

Sep 26, 2011
Visit site
First off, I want to apologize for the newb questions I am about to ask. I am a current WebOS user (frankenPre 2 on Sprint) and with HP's remarkable efforts on the platform, am now waiting for Sprint's iPhone.

I was given a water damaged 3gs a week or so ago which had been damaged back in December and promptly put up. It powered right up when plugged in and was on 3.1.2, although I didn't use it much. After transplanting the screen to a friends phone that was broken, I ordered a new screen and it worked fine. I decided it would be cool to use as an iPod touch to get familiar with iOS, plus I take classes with University of Phoenix and LOVE the app. I had to upgrade the phone to 4.0 or greater to use the app, so I tried to upgrade and jailbreak (Redsnow) to 4.1 after reading about the baseband (05.11.07-6.4_M3S2). I admit it was not a smooth process but once done, it would reboot after 3-5 minutes on its own. I also noticed the battery drain was significant. It would even reboot when attempting to sync music with iTunes if the sync took long and hit the 3-5 minute mark. I tried to restore with iTunes (shift-click) and could not take it to 4.3.5 (many different error codes - I'd say almost all of them at one point and time or another). I would do it with 4.1, however from time to time it would get stuck in recovery and I had to use TinyUmbrella several times to kick it out. Even a non-jb restore with 4.1 would produce the same rebooting.