Not SiFi: The Day I Wanted to Toss My iPhone.

The Reptile

Jul 21, 2008
Visit site
I need to start of by saying that I love my iPhone. Before it, I had a good 6 years on the Palm OS platform (Treo's 700P, 600 & 180). That platform was old and tired before I got my 700P. I was looking for the next evolution of the phone and got just that and more with the iPhone.

That said, the unit is not yet perfect. In fact, on Thursday, I wanted to toss my iPhone against a brick wall. I am a consultant for a very large company. The job I have doesn't require me to travel M-TH like previous ones because I'm in an industry group, but I do travel from time to time. Thursday was another such occasion. I had a trip to New York planned with a colleague to visit a potential customer.

Things started off badly for me because my flight was delayed. But these days delays are almost fun when you have an iPhone. Do I listen to music, game, watch the Dark Knight that I purchased the day it came out? Well, first I took care of work then went into some gaming after catching up on Twittter, which includes content for this site.

Things worked beautifully. I boarded my plane, texted my wife to let her know my flight was delayed and left a voice message for my colleague to tell him my revised ETA. Then it happend - the white screen of death.

I've only heard about iPhone problems on forums like this. iPhones overheating (which mine has done for the first time since the 2.2 firmware) and the dreaded white screen of death. I knew the SOP to correct these issues. However, as the flight attendant announced the doors were closed I was still unable to revive my iPhone.