How I do the armbar from the guard [BJJ]

Rene Ritchie

Old Man Ritchie
Jan 12, 2007
www.about.me

I've been grappling for 10 years, though with frequent injuries so that training time is inconsistent. That's also forced me to figure out very specific ways to achieve a lot with a little. I've been teaching a lot lately, and figured I might as well share what I'm figuring out here as well. I'm not very good, but I put a lot of thought into what I do, and I've been learning and teaching MA in general for 20 years, so it's something I'm really interested in. Any recommendations for improvements hugely appreciated.

--

Here's how I do the armbar from the closed guard in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. Assumes I'm attacking my opponent's right arm.

1. Grab their right wrist with my left hand, squeezing your middle and ring finger just above the bones of their wrist
  2. Reach across and cup their right tricep with your right arm, so they can't pull their arm back. Keep your elbow down for leverage.
  3. Lift your hips and as they come back down, pull their left elbow to your right hip bone and lock their arm there. Also, curl your head up off the ground so they start carrying your body weight.
  4. Let go of their right wrist with your left hand and reach up and hook their left trap/shoulder. Flare your elbow into their jaw. (That slows their ability to pull away or drive into you.)
  5. Put your left foot on their right hip and squeeze your right knee into their right arm. (That slows their ability to drive into you and makes it harder to pull their arm out.)
  6. Kick your right leg up under their left armpit and try to bring your right heel to the back of their head. (That slows their ability to stand up and turns you perpendicular.)
  7. Let go of their left trap/shoulder, put the palm of your left hand on their left ear, and push their head away from you.