Missed Call, Voice Mail, Text Preview

ecjn30

Aug 5, 2010
Visit site
Does anyone know or understand why Apple has not allowed users to disable previews. For the over zealous, yes I have disabled the "Text Preview" feature but the display still activates and shows "Text Message from xxxx"

Likewise, previews pop up for Missed call from xxxx or voicemail from xxxx.

I am new to the iphone (iphone 4) from years of using a blackberry and extremely happy I was able to make the change. That said, I do not understand why the features described above cannot be disabled? The red bubble notifications above the icons are more than sufficient for me!

Anyway, I ask this question as I have searched extensively to find a solution and have been unsuccesful to this point. It is amazing how many others desire the same features, some since the original iphone. Yet, other than the ability to disable Text Preview and have the name still appear has any change been made in a while?

chobbs1

Mar 8, 2008
Visit site
I was trying to do this the other night so I wouldn't be interrupted while watching a show from Hulu.

I have come to the conclusion that this is not something that can be turned off, sorry.

ecjn30

Aug 5, 2010
Visit site
That is my understanding as well, I am asking if anyone knows why apple has not given users the option to turn the feature(s) off.

ghostface147

Oct 1, 2009
Visit site
I am asking if anyone knows why apple has not given users the option to turn the feature(s) off.

I guess you aren't too familiar with Apple. It took them until the 3rd generation to add copy and paste. My guess is that they are revamping the notification system since they re-hired their former employee who worked on WebOS notifications. I suspect we'll see something in iOS 5.0. If wouldn't surprise me if they waited until 6.0 to make the massive notification overhaul.

Basically, you live with what Apple tells you to live with. This is why people jailbreak.

KingofHeart4711

Apr 14, 2010