NAS? Or something familiar.

I

iMore Question

So, I’m looking into getting a NAS, whatever this may be. But, I think an Apple Time Capsule would work as well? Anyway, I have everything Apple, well almost. iPad, iPhone, MacBook Pro, Apple TV and HomePod soon. I am looking for something that will back up iPad, iphone and MacBook and store my videos and college football games, photos, that I can just get into that app or whatever the case and watch. Would also prefer something I can make folder and sub folders?

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Wouldn't an external hard drive that can connect to your router or access point do what you're seeking to do?

Papajin

Mar 31, 2016
Visit site
I'm not an expert on all things backup -- especially when it comes to the mac, but from what I can tell, the Airport Time Capsule (nor any NAS or external hard drive for that matter) won't be able to directly back up your iphone or ipad devices. It may be possible to do so through itunes or something, but would likely require some manual effort to get that set up. Once again, not an expert here, so if I'm wrong please someone correct me... :)

Additionally, the ATC is a single drive device so it doesn't have any sort of redundancy of backed up data, so if the drive in it ever fails (and they all eventually do), your backups will be lost -- depending on how you plan to use it, that may still be sufficient, but it may be worth looking for either a NAS that supports a RAID configuration (at least 2 drives that each contain a copy of the data so if one drive fails, you can replace it with a new drive and it will rebuild the 2nd copy) if you want something a bit more robust.