Element Case Contest Aftermath Story

Status
Not open for further replies.

lgreenberg

Dec 2, 2008
www.active.com
I don't want this to come out sounding like I'm spoiled or that I'm eating sour grapes but I did feel the need to let you all know what happened.

Those of you who posted/read the thread on the Element Case giveaway know that I'm a firefighter.

You also know that someone from Element Case posted in the thread offering to send me a case regardless of whether I won the contest or not providing I was willing to speak to a firefighting trade publication about my experiences with the case.

The post went as follows......

"Hey there, Igreenberg - if you'd be willing to chat with a firefighting trade mag about your thoughts, we can def. shoot you over a case whether or not you win one of these awesome TiPB cases. Rene and Jeremy, thanks again for the flattering review and doing a give-away. Your logo made for some of the greatest looking Element cases that we have produced.

Happy New Year to you all and best wishes,

Element case Team"

Now I took this to mean they were offering to "give" me a case. Maybe I read it wrong, but I'm pretty sure I did not. Well I of course was willing to do so and was psyched at Element Cases's offer. I PMed the poster here but never heard back.

The other day I dropped them an e-mail to take them up on their offer and here's the response I got.

"Larry,
Yes, I remember Mark mentioning this to me.
I can send you a basic case at a discount (half price) or I will do a custom case for you at the price of a basic model.
Let me know. We're glad to help out.
-Jeff"

So what I thought was an offer by them to give me a case (as long as I reviewed it) was actually an offer to purchase their case, at a discount. Their offer was nice but on my salary it's not really something I can afford right now. Even with the discount their cases are 50-80 dollars.