Contacts App Missing - WatchOS 5

Bazza1

Mar 13, 2011
Visit site
So, I'm brand new to Apple Watch - a 'want' rather than a 'need' - and went out and bought a Series 3 GPS model yesterday. Last week's model discount applied - I really didn't see the point behind a 4 (and only got a 3 over an Apple Refurb 1 after some procrastination) - and the setup and sync to my iPhone appeared to be relatively painless - including a somewhat endless upgrade to WatchOS 5.
That said, I have no Contacts icon. The My Watch control panel on my iPhone shows it listed and set up to sync, but there's nothing there in App Layout.
Goodness knows I've since read plenty of threads where folks aren't getting their Contacts to sync across, but to not have the app at all? I've tried a Reset - nada.

Am I missing something? Or is this just Apple being Apple and deleting an app that they never bothered to fix?

Annie_M

Mar 2, 2016
Visit site
First of all, congratulations on joining the Apple Watch party! Like you, mine was a case of wanting rather than needing, but now I can't imagine life without it!

I just checked my Series 3, and I do have the contacts app on my watch. Have you looked at the Watch app on your phone? If not, open the App on your iPhone, and scroll down to Contacts. Tap contacts, and make sure that "Mirror my iPhone" is toggled on.

Bazza1

Mar 13, 2011
Visit site
First of all, congratulations on joining the Apple Watch party! Like you, mine was a case of wanting rather than needing, but now I can't imagine life without it!

I just checked my Series 3, and I do have the contacts app on my watch. Have you looked at the Watch app on your phone? If not, open the App on your iPhone, and scroll down to Contacts. Tap contacts, and make sure that "Mirror my iPhone" is toggled on.

Hi, Anne_8plus -