Getting SMS messages but not MMS

SlickRCBD

Oct 17, 2021
Visit site
My mother is having trouble with not getting some messages from certain people. I suspect the problem is that she's not getting MMS messages unless cellular data is turned on, and it is kept turned off for very good reasons.
She is using an iPhone 7.
I own an Android phone, so I don't know as much about the iPhone as I should to give proper support.

First, I'll state that she is not very computer literate and that is the reason _I_ am making this post, since she asks me for help as I have a degree in Computer Information Systems.

Second, she has a crappy data plan, and the news app, along with other things like automatic polling of the e-mail tends to eat up her 1gb/month plan. Plus, she's not literate enough to be mindful of it she's connected to wifi or not despite my best efforts to train her with the results being she follows a link in her e-mail to YouTube and then gets an overage fee at the end of the month.
So I finally gave up trying to teach her to be mindful of the wifi and told her to keep cellular data turned off unless she is out somewhere where she REALLY needs to get on the internet or is trying to use the navigation app, and only turn it on when she needs it.

Now she's having issues with MMS messages not being delivered unless she manually turns on cellular data, but she doesn't know to look because the messages aren't going through.
This confuses me, because I can send and receive MMS messages just fine on my Samsung Galaxy S105G with mobile data turned off, and had no such issues with my obsolete Galaxy S9 (it's not REALLY 4G, so I stopped being able to make calls or send texts last summer because it doesn't support VoLTE) or that phone's predecessor, an HTC One X+.

I have just spent an hour playing with both phones, and found that turning on cellular data will deliver the messages I sent, but she needs to manually resend any MMS messages.