Complete beginner - please help!

colinmh23

Nov 4, 2011
Visit site
Cydia Error Message (100) ??

Every time I try to install a package in Cydia, or run updates, or try to uninstall a package, I get the immediate error message "Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (100). I then have to restart the springboard.

Therefore, Cydia is currently useless to me.

Please help a complete novice by telling me (in easy terms) what I need to do.

Many thanks!!

Colin

Last edited:

Brickman

Nov 28, 2008
Visit site
Sounds like Cydia doesn't like something on your phone. :roll eyes: If I were you I would just "restore" my phone back through iTunes. (Basically UN-Jailbreak) Make sure everything was fine on my phone after being restored back to "stock" and then I would RE-Jailbreak.

Some bit of code may have come through bad on last JB. Who knows.:confused:

3cit

Nov 6, 2011
Visit site
You need to clear a package that didn't install properly.. Through cydia, pretty much just go down your installed list and try to reinstall everything you have...
Sounds like maybe you just deleted a file in ifile, and cydia is holding into it

colinmh23

Nov 4, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the suggestion. Before I do that (I've got many packages installed) I notice that when I try to install/reinstall a package, when the 'confirm' box pops up, under modifications it has Install - iFile above the package to be installed/reinstalled. How can I stop it installing iFile?

Also, /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code; the directory does not seem to exist.

Thanks for your help - it's much appreciated!

Last edited:

3cit

Nov 6, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the suggestion. Before I do that (I've got many packages installed) I notice that when I try to install/reinstall a package, when the 'confirm' box pops up, under modifications it has Install - iFile above the package to be installed/reinstalled. How can I stop it installing iFile?