Lost your itunes library? PC crashed? Read!

Manzanas

Oct 25, 2011
Visit site
Sharepod Love

I wanted to create this post to share my positive experience with sharepod.

My Story:

My motherboard on my PC fried a couple of months ago, and I had to take it to get replaced. In short, I lost all of my itunes library, everything. iTunes was still on my computer, and all my songs were displayed on itunes, but everytime I clicked one I would get the exclamation (!) sign and something about the file not being able to be located. It then gave me the option to locate the file myself, but it was useless, since the files were erased due to the computer crashed. My itunes library was still on my iPod classic, but not on my computer.

The Fix:

After some suggestions from the good folks on imore forums, I downloaded a program called SharePod. The website is getsharepod.com And its free!

Since I have limited experience with this program, I'll just comment on what it did for me. I downloaded it, launched it, and plugged in my iPod. My itunes library showed on the sharepod program, and first thing I did was copy all the music onto a music folder on my pc, which was now empty since I lost all my music files. Then I copied the music onto an external hard drive (should have done that before the crash).

Last thing I did was erase all of my itunes library, meaning the songs that were showing, but not playing, on the actual itunes program. You just highlight them and press delete. I then selected all of the music from my "Music" folder, and just dragged it onto itunes. Magic, the music begin to copy itself over on itunes and everything was back to normal.

Important: erase everything on itunes prior to adding back your music, if not you will have duplicates, meaning a song that works, and a song that doesn't. If you have duplicates, you'll have to go back into itunes and erase every non-working duplicate song/podcast/movie etc...