Can an iphone 5 under contract with AT&T be unlocked for use on Tmobile?

basketlacey

Nov 27, 2012
Visit site
I am an iphone newbie. I am so confused by unlocked/jailbroken/etc. My family is die-hard tmobile fans. We love their rate plans and the customer service is fantastic. However, my dd really really wants an iphone and of course, its not offered by Tmobile. We would love to surprise her with one for Christmas. My inlaws have AT&T and have two phones eligible for upgrades with no desire to do so. They like their iphone 3Gs. Can I purchase their upgrade and then have it unlocked so we can use it on Tmobile? Will this work? Will it mess up the AT&T service for the 3Gs phone?

vietalogy

Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
Shouldn't effect their old phones. You can get unlock service on eBay for dirt cheap less then $5 for each phone. Just pay for phone and upgrade fee's. Depending on their data plans they might have to pay more unless they have unlimited since AT&T increased their data plan rates.

via Tapatalk

basketlacey

Nov 27, 2012
Visit site
Shouldn't effect their old phones. You can get unlock service on eBay for dirt cheap less then $5 for each phone. Just pay for phone and upgrade fee's. Depending on their data plans they might have to pay more unless they have unlimited since AT&T increased their data plan rates.

via Tapatalk

Thank you! They both have data plans already so I don't think it impacts their plans. We would just upgrade one of their phones but never actually switch the sim card. I would instead get a sim card from tmobile and activate the iphone with that one after its been unlocked. Do I have that right?

vietalogy

Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
Thank you! They both have data plans already so I don't think it impacts their plans. We would just upgrade one of their phones but never actually switch the sim card. I would instead get a sim card from tmobile and activate the iphone with that one after its been unlocked. Do I have that right?