Messaging app on the IPT?

mtmjr90

Dec 7, 2010
Visit site
Hello everyone!

I'm a bit new to jailbreaking, but I've got a pretty good handle on things and I was playing around today (and almost bricked my iPod Touch 4G) with GV/SMS on my iPod and I ran into something a bit odd...at least to me.

I downloaded "SMS GV Extension" by mrzzheng. Sure enough, when I received a text to my Google Voice number, I got a popup saying I had received a new SMS and I proceeded to click on "View". This took me to the "Messages" app which, until then, I thought was absent from the iPod Touch. I was able to respond via the Messages app and it was received on the other end as having come from my GV number.

Intrigued, I pushed further and downloaded biteSMS (mostly for the quick reply feature). It was here that I ran into my first road block. As a stand alone messaging app, it performed the same as I described above with the stock app. However, when I tried to set biteSMS to take over as default, whenever I received a new SMS, Springboard crashed and went into Safe Mode, blah blah blah.

Then...because I have a problem...pushed even further and installed iRealQuickSMS by SpiritOfLogic. After making sure biteSMS was not set to default, I tested to see how this would work. However, upon receiving a new SMS...my entire device froze up and I had to do a full reset:(

So...I guess here are my questions:

1. Does the iPod Touch have a hidden Messaging app and if so, how can I make it appear?

2. Does anyone know (and I know it's probably a "no") how to make biteSMS play nice (as default) with the phantom stock Messaging app on the iPod Touch?

3. Why would iRealQuickSMS make my entire device crash if all it does is take SMS from the Messaging app (which evidently works fine) and make it pop up on my screen?

I realize, this is a lot for one thread...but each part relates to the last so I don't know how to split it up=/ Thanks to anyone who might know something!

mtmjr90

Dec 7, 2010