Traveling with Two iPhones - Apple ID/iMessage/Apps Help Requested!

SaMaster14

Mar 8, 2012
Visit site
Hey everyone, I’m studying abroad in London and will be traveling around Europe. I have both my iPhoneX (with my Verizon SIM) and I will be putting in a London SIM (from 3 wireless) in my old 6S Plus. I plan on using both devices, with the 6S+ mainly being used as a mobile hotspot in my pocket for the X, so I don’t have to pay Verizon $10 a day for 4 months...

My question is mainly, if I have both phones and both numbers attached to my Apple ID, and both active and working at the same time, how will iMessage/Apple ID stuff be affected? Apple Wallet? Will it be like two phones that are mirrors of each other?

(Also, for third party apps, I know that I can be signed in on Instagram with two devices, but does anyone know if I can be logged into Snapchat on both devices at the same time?)

Thanks for any advice!

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Whichever device you are paying with will be the only device affected. The results may sync to the other, but that’s about it, unless I’m misunderstanding your question.

SaMaster14

Mar 8, 2012
Visit site
My iPhoneX will still be connected to my US Verizon account, but I’ll be putting a ‘3 mobile’ UK SIM card in my 6S Plus. So, I’m technically paying for 2 plans (and 2 numbers), but as long as I keep my iPhoneX on Verizon on airplane mode, I won’t be charged the $10 a day travel pass

Trees

Dec 26, 2012
Visit site
Why not just put the 3 SIM in the iPhone X? You can still iMessage with people, and if someone needs to call they can use Facetime, Skype, Hangouts, etc. That's exactly what my daughter does when she's in UK. When visiting home, she just swaps back to the Verizon SIM, and then back in UK, goes back to the 3 SIM. This process has worked well with an iPhone 6 and now most recently an iPhone 8.