How to upgrade iPhone 4S to 5

donawalt

Aug 8, 2012
Visit site
HI all,

I have been doing some looking around, I want to make sure I have not missed anything. I have an old iPhone 5 that my daughter wants to start using, she has an iPhone 4s. We are on AT&T. I know all about doing a backup to iTunes first, then restoring from that. Do I have to do anything with AT&T to get her account converted to the new iPhone, or is that covered through it asking for her AT&T account info in the setup? Or do I have to call AT&T and tell them about the new phone for her (don't ant to change her upgrade eligibility for the future). Then just wipe the old phone when we are convinced the new iPhone has everything on it? Anything else I need to know? Thanks!

donawalt

Aug 8, 2012
Visit site
Thanks, what does that involve, is there a charge for that, what should I expect? I have never done that before.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Thanks, what does that involve, is there a charge for that, what should I expect? I have never done that before.

It shouldn't cost you anything because you are basically changing devices on the same wireless network/account.

tlo07

Mar 16, 2010
Visit site
Just tell them you want to do a device swap on her line and they should take of you. It shouldn't cost anything.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

donawalt

Aug 8, 2012
Visit site
Thank you for all the help. Just to make sure I understand how this works - the iPhone 5 she will move to, is the one I upgraded FROM when I went to a 5s. Does this iPhone 5 have a SIM in it already, and it's just a matter of getting her carrier info etc. transferred to it by AT&T? As opposed to, if the iPhone 5 and iPhone 4s supported the same SIM, I could just pop the SIM out of one and into the other and she would be ready to go. Do I understand it correctly?

donawalt

Aug 8, 2012
Visit site