SHSH question

AmpedPotato

Dec 9, 2012
Visit site
My iPad is currently on 5.1.1 Absinthe. Unfortunately, I don't have the SHSH blob for 5.1.1, so if I ever need to restore it will have to be 6.1. So my question is, if I used TinyUmbrella to back up my 6.1 SHSH blob, will it work in allowing me to restore 6.1 even after 6.1.1 is released? Even though I got the SHSH blob while still on 5.1.1?

Sent from my iPad 2 using Tapatalk

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
I might be so wrong because I have never used my SHSH blobs or downgraded before. If you're device is on 5.1.1 then it will save the blobs for the version of the OS that is on your device. So in order to save your 6.1 blobs you will need to upgrade to 6.1 and if your device is on 5.1.1 right now it will save those blobs. Like I said maybe I'm totally wrong I've never had to save or use the SHSH blobs but I believe that is the way it works.

AmpedPotato

Dec 9, 2012
Visit site
No I don't think that's how it works. I could also be wrong, but it seems that you can only back up blobs for iOS versions that Apple is currently signing. Right now that would be 6.1. So even though my iPad is on 5.1.1, TinyUmbrella actually saved the blobs for 6.1 (they are even labeled as 6.1.) I just want to make sure that that blob will actually work even though I'm still on 5.1.1.

Sent from my iPad 2 using Tapatalk

Tanbam

Feb 11, 2012
Visit site
Your iPad captured the SHSH blobs for 6.1. There have been methods in the past that could capture the blobs that were for your currently installed version even if Apple was signing a later version (iFaith) but I don't know if it still works for these newer firmwares.

Those should allow you to restore to 6.1 even after 6.1.1 is released, based on past firmware versions, but I haven't heard anyone say that it's an option yet. I believe that it's getting harder and harder to predict what is going to be possible anymore.