• After more than 15 years covering everything Apple, it’s with a heavy heart we announce that we will no longer be publishing new content on iMore and the iMore forums will be closing as of November 1st, 2024.

Question on Applecare+ MacBook Pro 16 (Now or Wait) - Applecare+ Extends from time of purchase!

Craig

Jan 17, 2011
Visit site
I normally don't get Applecare+ I did for my iPad Pro 12.9 (2018) but not for my other devices. I have yet (knock wood) to break a device, and I figure the cost saved outweighs the replacement or repair costs. However with the cost of the iPad Pro and now the new 2019 16" Macbook Pro (I9/1TB) is well over $3000 so I am going to get Applecare+ (even though my Amex extends warranty by 2 years after it expires).... mostly for 24/7 call / tech support as I am new to owning a Macbook Pro (Switching from Windows Laptop).

The actual question is this:
  1. I have 60 days from purchase of the Macbook to buy applecare+
  2. Applecare+ says it goes into effect at time of purchase of 3-years.
  3. Does waiting until my 60-days is nearly up and then buy Applecare+ extend the warranty time (by the delay) or does Applecare+ only extend the warranty to 3-years from the time I purchased the MacBook Pro on 11/15/2019?

Thanks in advance, just trying to get the most value for my $.

Abu Khadija

Oct 19, 2016
Visit site
I normally don't get Applecare+ I did for my iPad Pro 12.9 (2018) but not for my other devices. I have yet (knock wood) to break a device, and I figure the cost saved outweighs the replacement or repair costs. However with the cost of the iPad Pro and now the new 2019 16" Macbook Pro (I9/1TB) is well over $3000 so I am going to get Applecare+ (even though my Amex extends warranty by 2 years after it expires).... mostly for 24/7 call / tech support as I am new to owning a Macbook Pro (Switching from Windows Laptop).

The actual question is this:
  1. I have 60 days from purchase of the Macbook to buy applecare+