Listen to FM radio while seeing the Apple map and hearing the guidance.

kevgar

Sep 6, 2016
Visit site
Hello all, I am new to CarPlay, but not to computers. I have seen conflicting statements about whether it is possible to listen to FM and still see and hear the map guidance. I have an XR with the latest IOS 14.7.1, and I bought a Android based car stereo with Android 9.1 and installed it. I use to travel for work and when I used CarPlay in the rentals I never had this problem. So what am I missing.
Any specifics would be helpful, such as is it is a build from the factory, like Ford or BMW, If my Iphone is a known issue, the aftermarket Android radiod definitely don't have this feature. (I know these can vary but some internet reports say yes, some say no)
If there is a link feel free to post it, I will read the information and follow up with any key findings.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Good question and a part of me want to say yes. I know you can listen to your Music playlists and radio stations while also being able to listen to the turn by turn navigation of Apple Maps.

I will test it out the next time I get in my car and then I’ll get back to you.

Annie_M

Mar 2, 2016
Visit site
We use CarPlay in both our Subaru Outbacks and can listen to FM radio at the same time as using Apple Maps navigation. Siri’s voice will temporarily drown out the radio when giving instructions.

EdwinG

Ambassador
Mar 10, 2012
Visit site
Like @Annie_M, I can listen to regular radio (AM, FM, HD Radio or SiriusXM) in my Volkswagen Jetta while Apple Maps is running over CarPlay. I didn't need to configure anything special for that to work.

Not Quite Right

Trusted Member
May 11, 2013
Visit site
I bought a Android based car stereo with Android 9.1 and installed it. I use to travel for work and when I used CarPlay in the rentals I never had this problem. So what am I missing.