Improvements coming in watchOS 11 that I'm happy to see

doogald

Trusted Member
Oct 23, 2012
Visit site
I am not a developer and won't install any of the betas myself, but some of the things that I heard about being included in watchOS 11 that I'm happy about:

- training load and vitals. These are really two different things, but similar in concept - the Health app will track how you respond to your training and compare how you are doing recite with how you were doing in the last month, while vitals will do the same with skin temperature, breathing rate, heart rate, and blood oxygen readings during sleep tracking. I'm thinking that I will gain some useful information from this.

- Offline running and hiking routes, with turn-by-turn directions (though I understand the Workout app won't do this - that you will need to run maps concurrently for that) I don't need this often, but it will come in handy when I need it, such as when I am traveling somewhere that I don't go often.

- Live activities on the Smart Stack. Again, I don't use them often, but I do occasionally, and having them handy on my watch will really help. In addition, I guess the Smart Stack will start getting closer to the original idea of the Siri watch face introduced with (I think) Series 3, and start populating the stack intelligently with widgets that have important info right now - weather warnings and alerts, etc.

- As I understand it, at long last we can customize alert sounds on the watch. While I almost always have mine on silent mode, I do still have sound on sometimes, and I also have a distinctive text tone that lets me know that it's a message sent, and that it's to me, not to my wife (or anyone else that I am with.)