2 day review

volsfan0911

Jun 6, 2008
Visit site
not exactly an eternity of playing with it but enough time to offer up a solid opinion. Reference is I have a still working 2011 MBA (first with a SSD). Also Dell XPS13". 9360 (later 2017, 8th ten core i7, 16GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, win10). Sneak verdict? I'm selling the Dell, trading in the 2011 MBA (still worth $130 even after 7+ years, natch) and probably trading this new MBA in for a Pro. BUT I'm really impressed with this new Air. Here's why. For general computing tasks, it is great. I don't mean "adequate" but screams through every mundane task I've thrown at it to date. For giggles, installed Citrix Receiver and logged into my secure virtual work portal. Loaded and runs faster than my DIY Win10 box downstairs with an older core i5 and 16GB of RAM. Why am I switching then? Because I realize now that I can get a Pro, use for serious photo editing jacked into a 4K monitor (or 2) and it's still basically the same size as a MBA. Price isn't that much more.