Is there an Idiots Guide to Jailbreaking??

Jun 17, 2009
Visit site
Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to the whole iPhone thing and I was wondering if there is an idiots guide type of write up to jailbreaking? I found a good post on crackberry's forums about how to jailbreak it using purplera1n, but after doing some research I saw that it does not work with 3.01.

So my question to you is, is are there easy to understand, step by step directions on how to jailbreak an iphone 3gs 3.01 using redsn0w?

I'm also really confused on what to do with cydia / icy after the initial jailbreak.

Thanks in advance for the help

Last edited:

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
Follow those steps with this changes: make sure you use the ipsw for the 3gs version 3.0 (and not 3.01). Watch Simulcast this Thursday night (8/27) for a special edition on jailbreaking.

leadbyxampl

Nov 20, 2008
Visit site
I too am new to this iphone/jailbreak process. I am a new iphone users that switched in June.
1. I found steps on iclarified, but was not sure if after freshly restoring to the ipsw, if I should then have items setup my iphone with my items, or just proceed with jailbreak process.

2. After jailbreaking, how does one get contacts and other apps back?

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
Jailbreaking doesn't remove anything from your phone, so after you jailbreak, the only difference you'll see from before you started the process is the addition of Cydia.

jglowe74

Jun 9, 2009
joshlowe.posterous.com
but when reading the info on the Windows version of this JB, it says "This will NOT work with iPhone 3GS." and the OP is a 3gs user (as am i). so what are our options?? i've used this tutorial to no avail and i've tried Tramain's recommended way. neither worked for me.

BenGillam

Dec 30, 2008
Visit site
i would check out the tutorials on iClarified they are for windows and mac and tell you pretty much everything, JB is very easy and not a black art as some people think

Jun 17, 2009
Visit site