i'm new to apple, but why do i need to have a credit card on filefor a free app???
    12-08-2011 11:23 AM
    You need the card on file for in app purchases, for non-free apps, etc.
    ricking likes this.
    12-08-2011 12:32 PM
    Actually if you create an iTunes account with a iTunes Gift Card, you can bypass that credit or debit card stuff.
    ricking likes this.
    12-09-2011 12:59 AM
    There's two options I know of having I just went through this having created accounts for my two daughters. Apple Support has an article specifically for this issue at support.apple.com/kb/ht2534. Creating an iTunes App Store account without a credit card. Alternatively, if you simply go to appleid.apple.com, I think you can effectively do the same thing.

Rgds/Mark M.
    ricking likes this.
    12-09-2011 09:08 AM
    once i created an account w/o a cc will i be able to download just free apps???
    12-09-2011 11:53 AM
    No. You need a gift card or CC on file
    12-09-2011 12:17 PM
    I would think so judging by the Apple support article, but I've never tried it so I'd have to defer to big9erfan who's got much more experience with Apple.

Rgds/Mark M.
    12-09-2011 02:38 PM
    Actually if you create an iTunes account with a iTunes Gift Card, you can bypass that credit or debit card stuff.
    this is a helpful hint.

iTunes CC info is always a PITA. My buddy wasn't able to download anything from the app store on his ipad 2 for over 3 months because there was an issue with the card number on file and for some reason nothing he did to change it worked.
    12-09-2011 04:53 PM
    What's the big deal? Take the tinfoil hat off and put a credit card on file...
    ProfessorTripp likes this.
    12-10-2011 11:21 AM
    i bought a visa gift card went into my itunes acct change billing info to the new card and now it says the security code is wrong and it is right!!! wtf
    12-10-2011 02:43 PM