Paperless at Uni. What apps to write math notes.

ivamsis

Feb 19, 2016
Visit site
Hey Everyone,

I'm a university student from Australia, studying physics and computer science. I've always been intrigued by working fully digitally. In the past few years of my education I've moved from textbooks and notebooks -> iPad and MacBook and notebooks -> iPad and Notebooks.

I currently have an iPad Air 2, and a MacBook Air Mid 2012.
The primary subjects I do now and will probably do for the remaining years I have at University are:

Some form of Maths:
- we have fill in Lecture notes, the notes are semi complete and finished in the lecture. I currently use PDF Expert with an Adonit Jot pro. It's okay. Perhaps I'd love it more with more real estate. This makes me want to buy an iPad Pro!
- we have tutorial questions to answer, I usually load the questions in PDF expert and just do them in a notebook, if I could digitise this, I would but I haven't found an app that I can do my maths work in comfortably. The palm rejection is always bad, and I feel like I need a ruler.

Some form of Physics:
- these lecture notes have to be constructed from either summarising the textbook or writing down key points in the lecture, it's a similar story for the tutorial. I currently just do both of these in a notebook. I need to draw diagrams a lot and write a lot same problem as I have with the maths tutorial

Some form of Computing:
- I'm currently just starting to learn c programming. For this semester I ditched my MacBook and currently use Coda on my iPad. It was around 20 dollars but worth it. I love it! I write my programs on the iPad. Copy the files to the Linux machine at uni using sftp. I then compile the program on the uni machine.

So that's basically where I'm at! I'm down to a notebook and iPad but looking to ditch the notebook and convincing myself to buy a 12.9 iPad Pro.