tethering/hotspot

turdsamich

Sep 19, 2012
Visit site
So Im new to the iPhone, just got it back in October and now that we finally have a jailbreak fro the iphone 5 I need to know what the best option is for free hotspot/tethering?

natasftw

Sep 13, 2012
Visit site
So Im new to the iPhone, just got it back in October and now that we finally have a jailbreak fro the iphone 5 I need to know what the best option is for free hotspot/tethering?

The apps will all likely come with a price. Mywi and pdanet are the two most popular.

johndhynes

Dec 23, 2010
Visit site
I found that PDANet does not work with iPhone 5 or any iPhone on iOS 6.

It seems that there are now only two options for JB tethering, MyWi or TetherMe. My question is, can AT&T detect the use of either one?

I think that they started catching MyWi users some time ago, but I don't know if that was fixed, and their web site suggests that it wasn't.

TetherMe apparently claims to be undetectable, but I don't know how true that is.

I don't need to use it very much, I would just like it as a backup in case my Internet does down, like it did a couple of weeks ago, or if I'm in the doctor's waiting room or something, so I can use the big iPad screen instead of my little iPhone.

anon(596177)

Oct 25, 2012
Visit site
I used to have a Galaxy Nexus and with that I used a custom ROM that Did pretty much what TetherMe does to the iPhone, allows you to use the built in tethering instead of adding a separate app for that functionality. I Was never caught.

I would assume the situation is much the same for the iPhone. As long as your data usage doesnt increase significantly (like going from using 1.5gigs a month to like 7 gigs) I dont think you have to worry about the carrier finding out (or caring). Besides, if you arent on an unlimited plan the carrier is still charging you for any data you use that exceeds your limit as tethering still dips into your monthly allowance.