NSFW: 'Power Users' need to shut up

iMore.com

Administrator
Nov 15, 2013
Visit site
macbook-thin-side-bubble_0.JPG

I've had quite enough of "power users" who think they're too good for the new MacBook.
I've been using a Mac for 30 years. I got my first one in 1985. I sell Macs on the weekends and write about them during the weekdays. I am, by any definition, a "power user." Yet I detest that term, and I react viscerally whenever I hear someone else use it.

Full story from the iMore Blog...

PortCity79

Feb 18, 2015
Visit site
I don't think "power users" are mad at the device itself. They already realize this device doesn't cater to their computing needs. The problem is that they know the new MacBook isn't worth it's $1299 price. The quality of internal components does not justify the cost. Will this directly affect the "power user"? Absolutely not. The same can be said about the Apple Watch edition. You could hear a pin drop in that place when Cook announced its starting price. Why? Because everyone in there (including Apple employees, knew it was overpriced). The bottom line is that people shouldn't let those who are less knowledgable in a particular area to be to be unknowingly ripped off. Once the purchaser knows the pros and cons then the decision is up to them, but at least they will be well informed which is what the "power users" are doing.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
I don't think "power users" are mad at the device itself. They already realize this device doesn't cater to their computing needs. The problem is that they know the new MacBook isn't worth it's $1299 price.
Thats debatable, and still, it doesn't justify them getting angry especially when the device, as you put it, does not cater to them.
The quality of internal components does not justify the cost.
Quality or lack of power?