Thanks to Fedora, it's now much easier to run Linux on your M1 or M2 Macs — just make sure you've got plenty of storage space ready

EdLin

Jan 4, 2024
Visit site
This article is inaccurate, although it needs space, Asahi Linux installation is dual boot, it does not erase MacOS and in fact needs a MacOS partition firmware updates. It may have seemed that way because it makes the default boot Asahi.

Also, Asahi is meant for Apple silicon so it doesn't work well in generic ARM virtualization. For parallels use something like the ARM version of Debian bookworm.

naddy69

Jun 17, 2017
Visit site
Since MacOS is already real Unix with a professional UI, why in the world would I want to install the cheap copy with an amateur UI?

I have been playing with various Linux distros for 25 years, on various Windows PCs. They all look extremely pathetic. Windows XP looks and works better. If you are a long time Mac user, you will be stunned at how ugly and user hostile Linux is.

Because programmers should not be designing UIs. For the same reason that UI designers should not be coding. Very different skill sets.

There is no way I am going to contaminate this wonderful M2 MacBook Pro with Linux. It would be like hanging a picture of the "Hang In There, Baby" cat in the Louvre museum.

EdLin

Jan 4, 2024
Visit site
Performance for containers such as docker, testing software headed for Linux servers. (MacOS despite its certification does not resemble that environment in some respects), higher degree of privacy. Those are all legitimate reasons for some developers.