Should I trade my 3GS for a 4?

chesterhound#IM

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
I am new to the iPhone and really love my 3GS. I may have an opportunity to trade it in and pay an extra $80 to get a refurb iPhone 4. I don't really face chat or need the retina setup. Should I spend the extra cash or just keep the 3GS? Thanks for any advice.

chesterhound

smalcom

Jan 20, 2011
Visit site
I am new to the iPhone and really love my 3GS. I may have an opportunity to trade it in and pay an extra $80 to get a refurb iPhone 4. I don't really face chat or need the retina setup. Should I spend the extra cash or just keep the 3GS? Thanks for any advice.

chesterhound

You're the only one that can answer that question. If you are happy with the 3GS, why go for an iPhone 4 five months before the announcement of the next model? Save the money and see if perhaps the newer phone would give you more features that would appeal to you. It is most probable, however, that the iPhone 5 won't support 4G/LTE.

I have always believed that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Reactions: chesterhound#IM

ek9max

Jan 29, 2011
Visit site
I would in a heartbeat. When the 5 comes out you will be able to sell the 4 for at least $80 more than a 3GS. So you get your money back and get to use the 4 till then.

slalomskie

Jan 29, 2009
Visit site
Hold out for the next model. When it comes out and you don't want the latest and greatest then you can sell your 3GS on eBay for 100-200 and buy the 4 brand new at a discount.

chesterhound#IM

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it. I am leaning towards keeping it. I am happy with the phone and it does everything I need it to and more. Is there a huge difference between the two? And I read that there were still some issues with the 4 such as reception and proximity sensor. Not sure if that's accurate but it seems the 3GS has the bugs worked out. Again, thanks for all the input and advice.

chesterhound

mikesa_tx

Jan 13, 2011
Visit site