Traveling to Australia

clarkkent06

Jun 23, 2009
Visit site
Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to the jailbreak community. I have an AT&T GSM iPhone 4, running on 5.0.1 and jailbroken. I want to use the phone in Australia, buying a prepaid card or on a mobile plan (not sure how long I'll be there, I have a 1 year Visa).

Am I SOL? Can 5.0.1 be unlocked? I'm not even 100% sure on the process. Unlock, buy a new SIM there, insert it, and activate in iTunes? Will my US apps and stuff still work?

Although that's all trivial if 5.0.1 can't be unlocked lol.

Thanks for the advice

iDonev

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
Go to AT&T and explain your situation. They just might unlock the phone for you. Also if they reject your request, it might be worth coming back later and speaking to another rep.

Reactions: clarkkent06

Shooter03

Jul 9, 2011
Visit site
I'm in Australia and the above comment is right. Ask if AT&T will
Unlock it, then it's a simple case of getting a sim from a phone company here ( I strongly advise Telstra ) and viola it's all good.
If your phone is carrier locked to AT&T and you try and use it here your outta luck unless you jailbreak it somehow.
As for apps and everything I think you'll be fine, my mom comes here yearly from Alaska and all her iTunes works fine and app update, so you should be fine.

Magically beamed through the internut on my LifeProof'd iPhone using Tapatalk.

iDonev

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
And yes - shooter03 is correct about the app situation. You'll be able to use, remove, buy, redownload, update your apps without a problem. There are only two things you need to keep in mind:

1. Location-specific apps like Pandora (possibly Spotify as well) will NOT work outside the borders of the US. There are workarounds, but that's a thread on its own.