Help: song as ringtone?

kevinarguello

Oct 15, 2013
Visit site
Hey guys, so far I've read topics about how to put songs as ringtones with our friend Google search, but the process looks uber-complicated just for me to put a song from my collection as a ringtone.

Is there any other (easier) way to do it? The way I've read about works by using iTunes on our laptop and take different steps to convert the song to a different format and whatnot and all that.

May be a newbie question but as you guys know, I'm new to iPhone and I'm not all the way familiar with it. Coming from Android where you just click on a song and "set as ringtone" this means a hole different world to me.

Thanks!

psiclne

Dec 31, 2011
Visit site
The file has to be M4R file. Theres a bunch of free converters online that you can use. Once converted you can add it to itunes.

anon(4698833)

Banned
Sep 7, 2010
Visit site
There's really only the iTunes process in the end...it seems very complicated from the outside, but once you've done it a couple of times, it's honestly not really all that complicated at all. Try it a couple of times and see if you can get the hang of it. Arguably, there should be a quicker and less labor intensive way of doing this, but alas, it is what it is (in a world where Apple is trying to make money off selling you a ringtone vs. you just making it yourself for free, lol).

anon(4698833)

Banned
Sep 7, 2010
Visit site
Got it, I'll try the way Apple makes us do it I guess. Thanks peeps

It's certainly not optimal, but at least it gets you around having to pay...this is one facet of the iPhone that I was always frustrated with. Logic tells me that as a business, they're never going to make this process easy for the consumer...but charging for ringtones is just such a petty thing in this day and age of smart phones. Grumble grumble grumble...lol.

kevinarguello

Oct 15, 2013
Visit site