"Blue collar" jobs and the watch

bahandi

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
I would like to be able to wear an Apple Watch as I work. Anyone here work in the trades with lots of potential hazards to the watch's overall look?

I'm a lineman by trade; climb hydro poles, play in the dirt, work with wires. I would like to know if anyone has put their Apple Watch through the rigors of a hands on type of environment.

tech_fan

Jan 7, 2013
Visit site
Spigen makes cases for the watch that are meant for rugged environments. If you go to Amazon.com you will find them there. Some come with a built in screen protector.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Trees

Dec 26, 2012
Visit site
I worked around heavy equipment and large machinery in the military. We removed watches, rings, dog tags and similar items that could get caught in moving parts or jammed. Not sure if your daily operations require a similar approach, but sharing in the event your routine could present similar challenges to wearing a watch.

bahandi

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
Spigen makes cases for the watch that are meant for rugged environments. If you go to Amazon.com you will find them there. Some come with a built in screen protector.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Cases seem to be the popular option.

bahandi

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
I worked around heavy equipment and large machinery in the military. We removed watches, rings, dog tags and similar items that could get caught in moving parts or jammed. Not sure if your daily operations require a similar approach, but sharing in the event your routine could present similar challenges to wearing a watch.

No heavy machinery for us, at the moment. Good point though.

Peligro911

Jun 1, 2011
Visit site
I would like to be able to wear an Apple Watch as I work. Anyone here work in the trades with lots of potential hazards to the watch's overall look?