• Welcome to the all-new iMore Forums! - We're still moving some things around, so you may see a few quirks here and there, but we're working on getting things fully completed as soon as possible. For now, take a look around, and if you run into any major issues, please let us know in this thread!

Soft Reset Vs Hard Reset

Diok_Mhf

Banned
Dec 27, 2012
hi, i am a iphone newbie just got a 4s and would like to know when i delete apps and other files should i do a hard reset or soft reset if not when would you consider the time for doing them .. thanks in advance

Jaguarr40

Jan 14, 2011
hi, i am a iphone newbie just got a 4s and would like to know when i delete apps and other files should i do a hard reset or soft reset if not when would you consider the time for doing them .. thanks in advance

I always do a hard reset meaning that I hold down the home and power button until I see the apple logo come on and then let go. That should clean up any remnants of an old or deleted app. I only do it if I delete apps or delete old files or anything else that I want to make sure get cleaned up. Good luck.

Garz

Retired Moderator
Mar 9, 2009
No need to do resets like BB when you delete a app.

Garz

Retired Moderator
Mar 9, 2009
By the way, what the heck is a soft reset on iOS? I've never heard that term when referring to iOS.

korp

Nov 10, 2012
A hard reset is a factory reset and a soft reset either holding down the power button and home button or the standard power button. Simply you do not need to do either.

linsiris

Dec 3, 2012
Who said we need to reset after deleting apps on iOS? Never heard of such a thing.

Jaguarr40

Jan 14, 2011
No need to do resets like BB when you delete a app.
That is just my personal preference Garz for apps. Does not mean anyone has to reboot as i just do it to make sure everything is gone.
By the way, what the heck is a soft reset on iOS? I've never heard that term when referring to iOS.