Need advice... Yet another which Macbook Air or Pro question...

I

iMore Question

All,

I am looking for some advice here. I have been using Apple products since early 2009. I have a late 2008 15" Macbook Pro, Ipad 2, Ipad Air, Apple TV and a Iphone 4s. I had a Iphone 5s for a while but returned it. I could not justify keeping it since I bought it outright in order to keep my unlimited data plan at Verizon.

I do like the Ipads but to be honest I spend most of my time on the Macbook Pro. I like the Ipad for watching video, surfing the web and reading books. I gave my mom my Ipad2 so we could Facetime with her. I bought the Air to replace the Ipad 2.

I am still debating whether to replace my Macbook Pro. It still works perfectly with the exception of the swollen battery issue including poor battery life. I could replace the battery but never got around to it. It has some dents on it but otherwise works well. I have maxed out the RAM at 8GB plus I have installed a 750 GB hard drive as well. I know I could throw in a SSD drive plus remove the superdrive in order to retain my mechanical drive too.

I am debating returning the Ipad Air to get either a Macbook Air or another Macbook Pro w/ Retina display. I do like the expand-ability of the last generation (non-retina) Macbook Pros which is probably why I have been able to keep mine so long without an issue. I would like to get another Apple laptop but can't seem to decide on which model to get. I really do want something more portable than what I have now.

I don't see how I can get rid of my current Macbook Pro since I am able to store everything on it without the need for a portable drive. If I get an Air or Retina Pro I will have an issue with storage.

What to do?

1) Return Ipad Air and get a 11" or 13" Macbook Air while keeping my current Macbook Pro?
2) Return Ipad Air and get a 13" Macbook Pro w/ Retina display while keeping my current Macbook Pro?