Lightning to 3.5 mm headphone "adapter"

Joe McG

Jun 9, 2009
Visit site
I'm an electrical engineer and I have had some serious doubts about the functionality and audio quality of the lightning to 3.5 mm headphone adapter. This is because Apple has stated that the lightning port is "all digital" so the digital audio stream must be converted to analog for the 3.5 mm audio jack.

That being said, there must be a tiny DAC inside the lightning to 3.5 mm adapter. However, it is so small that it would be an incredible engineering feat to fit any decent DAC inside this connector.

I received my iPhone 7 Plus yesterday and my fears were realized. The adapter works just fine but the audio quality is absolutely awful. Apple must be using a ridiculously cheap, low quality DAC in this cable. It's really disappointing that they would market this as an "adapter" when it really is a DAC and DACs aren't trivial. The DAC is EVERYTHING when it comes to music quality. I guess many people won't notice the low audio quality and it seems Apple is banking on this.

On top of that, Apple doesn't support the Bluetooth aptX codec, only AAC and it has been really difficult to find Bluetooth headphones that support high quality AAC. I did find the Klipsch S6 Bluetooth headphones and have ordered a pair to test. Standard Bluetooth headphones use the SBC codec and this has mixed results.

I hope that eventually there are 3rd party lightning DACs that become available in the next few months which are of higher quality.

It's also disappointing that most of the tech blogs out there don't seem to have an engineering expertise to point these sorts of potential issues before they become the next "Apple-gate". This was an obvious potential issue to me from the start.

pantlesspenguin

Apr 16, 2013
Visit site