Is the iPad 3g really worth it? I dont know which to buy?

sepehrsh

Jun 22, 2009
Visit site
Im a student, and will be using my ipad at school mostly, or home. Do I need the 3g? it might be helpful just to have as a a backup if wi-fi is not available. But is it worth the extra money?

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
Do a search people have already answered this about the first gen iPad, and it's also been answered in a few of the new iPad 2 threads. There are a couple of things to consider resale value, capacity vs connectivity and whether you have an iPhone 4 with a data plan already. The Personal Hotspot feature coming in 4.3 means you can turn your phone into a Wifi hotspot meaning you wouldn't need an extra 3G connection for the iPad.

swooshme

Sep 1, 2009
Visit site
If you want GPS, get the 3G. Thats the sole reason I got the 3G. I wanted to use NAVIGON and Maps on my iPad

I have a question regarding the GPS on the iPad. I also was contemplating getting the 3G version soley, from what I've been reading, the GPS is more accurate on it. I would like to know how that works if you don't actually activate the AT&T 3G service, if it is just as accurate.

I have an iPhone 4 already jailbroken and I have MyWi. But I'm afraid that if I "tether" from iPad to my iPhone and try to use GPS or any other "Location Based" services/apps, that they will have problems with accuracy?

Can anyone speak from experience regarding this?

Last edited:

JRoid

Mar 3, 2011
Visit site
I have a 3g + wifi, and seem to like it. Well, since i now have an iPhone 4 on vzw, i'm thinking of cancelling my 25/month with att for 2gb. I would save 5 bucks connecting to my mobile hotspot now.

touchyphone

Apr 21, 2009
Visit site