Iphone 8 vs iphone 7?

Archie Medrano

Sep 16, 2017
Visit site
I'm planning to get a new smartphone as a replacement for my galaxy s3 and I'm considering switching to iOS as I've been using Android for five years. The new iphone 8 seems to be a little upgrade over the last gen iPhone 7 so im deciding which of the two should i get. As some of you have been long time iPhone users, I have some questions to ask:

1. which capacity should i get? I don't usually play games nor play movies on my phone. Only music, photos and video streaming

2. How does file transfer from pc to iphone work? Is iTunes still required especially for music?

3. (SPECIAL MENTION) Your thoughts on iPhone SE?? It's the cheapest among the iPhone lineup and yet its powerful enough ( on par with 6s). The only disadvantage i see here is the front camera which is only 2 mpix and the small screen. Im also considering this one as my first ios device :)

Im planning to get a new phone next month.

MizWylie

Champion
Jul 2, 2015
Visit site
@Archie Medrano, welcome to iMore! We're glad you're here!

Wow! A Galaxy S3? That's a hardy little phone you have there! Hopefully I can answer some of your questions!

1. This is really dependent on how you plan to listen to your music and store photos. If you stream from Spotify or even Apple or Google Play Music you should be okay with a 32 GB iPhone 7. If you use a SD card however to store all your photos etc and do not plan to use a Cloud service of some type you may want to consider the larger size of 128 GB. Since you seem to do really well as far as longevity on your phone I think 128 GB is a safe bet for you!

2. For a basic or first time user your best bet is to check out iTunes first. I believe there are other legitimate methods but I've never had an issue with iTunes. Also, when you first set up your phone Apple has methods of transferring all your data from your Android device.