How To Block Someone in Google Photos Via iPhone?

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
59,784
645
113
Visit site
I don’t use the Google Photos app, but I’d like to think there is a setting that disables sharing or disables access to your photos.
 

Lee_Bo

Well-known member
Apr 6, 2016
6,070
309
68
Visit site
How To Block Someone in Google Photos Via iPhone?

I've look all through the app and don't see any place to specifically block anyone. However, unless you have anything shared in your photos, then nobody will see your photos anyway. Just like iCloud Photos, nobody seems my photos unless I share them or create a shared album.
 

Ledsteplin

Ambassador
Oct 2, 2013
50,272
707
108
Visit site
As far as I know, no one can see your photos in Google Photos, unless you share them, using the share feature. And then, only those you share with see them.
 

doogald

Trusted Member
Oct 23, 2012
2,758
94
48
Visit site
And then, only those you share with see them.

So, that is not true. Google Photos are basically secure, but once you share a photo with somebody (anybody) and they get the URL, there is nothing to prevent them (or anyone else) from seeing the photo from that URL. That URL is not account protected or anything like that. The URL is pseudo-random and unguessable, but once it is out there and shared with anybody, anyone who connects to that URL will see the photo.

See https://www.alexkras.com/do-not-share-your-google-photos/ and https://www.theverge.com/2015/6/23/8830977/google-photos-security-public-url-privacy-protected

So, to stop sharing any photo, go to https://photos.google.com/sharing on a computer browser, and it will list all of the photos that you have shared. You can turn off sharing for any photo that you like. Do that and nobody else will be able to see the photo.
 

Ledsteplin

Ambassador
Oct 2, 2013
50,272
707
108
Visit site
So, that is not true. Google Photos are basically secure, but once you share a photo with somebody (anybody) and they get the URL, there is nothing to prevent them (or anyone else) from seeing the photo from that URL. That URL is not account protected or anything like that. The URL is pseudo-random and unguessable, but once it is out there and shared with anybody, anyone who connects to that URL will see the photo.

See https://www.alexkras.com/do-not-share-your-google-photos/ and https://www.theverge.com/2015/6/23/8830977/google-photos-security-public-url-privacy-protected

So, to stop sharing any photo, go to https://photos.google.com/sharing on a computer browser, and it will list all of the photos that you have shared. You can turn off sharing for any photo that you like. Do that and nobody else will be able to see the photo.

If you put it that way, then regardless of how you share a photo, anyone can see it if the person you share with shows it to others. But the OP didn't say they had shared a url to anyone. They only asked how to block someone. More info would have helped.
 

doogald

Trusted Member
Oct 23, 2012
2,758
94
48
Visit site
If you put it that way, then regardless of how you share a photo, anyone can see it if the person you share with shows it to others. But the OP didn't say they had shared a url to anyone. They only asked how to block someone. More info would have helped.

Yes, you are right. But I just wanted to correct the part of your post that I quoted. Google Photos has no way to share a photo with only specific users by permission. If OP has shared a photo to more than one person, and wants to stop sharing to only one of them, you cannot turn off the share to that one person. I believe you'd have to stop sharing that photo completely, and then share again (which I believe would create a new, obfuscated URL) to the smaller group of people.
 

Ledsteplin

Ambassador
Oct 2, 2013
50,272
707
108
Visit site
Yes, you are right. But I just wanted to correct the part of your post that I quoted. Google Photos has no way to share a photo with only specific users by permission. If OP has shared a photo to more than one person, and wants to stop sharing to only one of them, you cannot turn off the share to that one person. I believe you'd have to stop sharing that photo completely, and then share again (which I believe would create a new, obfuscated URL) to the smaller group of people.

Ok. I don't really know how sharing works in Google Photos, but I assume it's similar to Box. The OP didn't give us much to go on, as to what he's done and is trying to do. Has he shared a url to someone? Did someone unexpected see his photos? Did someone he shared with give the url to others?
 

Latest posts

Trending Posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
260,349
Messages
1,766,517
Members
441,240
Latest member
smitty22d2