Any tips and suggestions for a soon to be Mac Mini owner?

GrangerGamble

Mar 9, 2021
Visit site
I have an M1 Mac Mini 16GB 512 GB HD arriving next week. I've been solely a Windows user, till next week. I've read a lot of "switching from windows to mac" articles and videos" and to be honest most of them I think are just copying each other's stuff to just put content out and not actual real user tips and suggestions. So that's why I'm posting here.

I have all my docs backed up to OneDrive, I have an Office365 subscription. I also have about 260 GB of photos and videos.

Can I get tips and suggestions on what I should look out for when moving my files, photos, and videos to my Mac Mini?

And I'm hoping for opinions on subscriptions to iCloud for backup vs OneDrive. I get 1TB with OneDrive but for some reason, I'm paying for 200GB for my family's iPhones.

Again just looking for real-world user experiences when first using a Mac and moving from Windows. Thanks in advance!

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
The Mac Mini, in my opinion, is an very fast, quiet and powerful computer. With that being said, it seems like you’re already preparing yourself for the switch from a PC. Using the Mac will seem weird at first because doing things on it is so different than Windows. Soon it will start making sense and then you’ll see the beauty of working on a Mac.

in regard to storage, take advantage of both the free and tiered cloud storage plans. I’d also recommend an external drive, especially for photos, videos and important documents and receipts

if you access services like OneDrive, Dropbox, Google Drive, Evernote, etcetera via a web browser on your PC then you can do the same on your Mac Mini. If you use an associated app on your PC, you’ll be able to do the same on the Mac Mini.

GrangerGamble

Mar 9, 2021
Visit site