Android/Windows guy gets an iPad Pro

TemporalBeef

Jul 10, 2017
Visit site
Hi everyone!

Let me preface this by saying that I'm mainly an Android guy (i have a Galaxy s8+ and use an NVIDIA Shield tablet), and a Windows guy. The last time I've owned an Apple product was in 2011 when I bought the iPad 2 (which I sold a year later), however, I do use a 27" iMac at work, so I have some experience with Apple products.

I've wanted to get into digital drawing more, and wanted to buy a tablet that would let me do so while on the go. After extensive research, and going hands-on with a ton of devices when I could, my final 4 choices were the Galaxy S3, the Galaxy Tab A 10.1 with S Pen, the Surface 4 pro and the iPad Pro.

I almost immediately discounted the Tab A, as it's simply-HD screen, while looking good color-wise, simply did not cut it resolution wise. I could see... PIXELS... dreaded, dreaded pixels. It also has a 16:9 screen ratio which just didn't seem to jive with drawing. At $270, I think it's a great deal for a mid-range Android tablet, but it just wasn't going to work for me.

So then I thought the S3 would fit the bill. Sure, it's a little pricey, but it's such an improvement on the Tab A. Beautiful screen, well-crafted, and it has the Android OS I know and love. But the S Pen still didn't feel right to me, in weight and length, and the screen was a bit small.

Then the surface pro. The surface pro is a great machine, but I just didn't get the feeling of a great experience using Win 10 on a mobile device. And if I wanted to get the non-mobile processor variations, I was looking at forking over a lot more dough.