1. donawalt's Avatar
    I have been reading about local snapshots, and I know that you can turn them off, or else they happen when you are disconnected from your Time Machine backup server.

    My question is this - right now, I have about 30GB showing as local snapshots on my Startup disk. Is there a way to move these to the Time Machine disk (locally attached not network), or are my only alternatives to leave it be until they are deleted or disable local snapshots to delete them?

    Thanks!
    08-02-2014 06:51 PM
  2. warcraftWidow's Avatar
    As far as I know those are you're only choices. But the local Time Machine backups should clear themselves whenever your Time Machine drive is connected and performs it's backup. Not sure if that would show up in Finder or Disk Utility or whatever as being freed up though.
    08-03-2014 12:13 AM
  3. donawalt's Avatar
    Thanks Karen. I had the MBP on the road for about 6 hours yesterday, and that 30GB still shows up on my startup disk. I suspect it stays there until the hourly backup data is no longer kept, I read that TM backs up data every hour for the last 24 hours, every day for the last month, and every week for some longer time (I forget; or maybe as long as you have disk space?). If so maybe it stays there until th 24 hours is gone? I"ll watch it today and tonight.
    08-03-2014 06:38 AM

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-07-2014, 10:32 AM
  2. Any tips on how to find hidden app/folders on a jailbroken device?
    By maddog1921 in forum Jailbreaking, Unlocking, Hacks, Themes & Mods
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-03-2014, 08:37 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-02-2014, 12:32 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-02-2014, 09:23 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-02-2014, 07:35 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD