13" MacBook Air (2012) or 13" MacBook Pro (2012)

albertolempira

Jan 24, 2012
Visit site
I am planning to buy a MacBook. My budget is around the $1500 so I was taking a look at the 13" MacBook Air with 1.8GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 which is $1499 and th 13" MacBook Pro with 2.9GHz dual-core Intel Core i7 which is also $1499.

I am an Engineering student and I occasionally use video editing apps and I'm a freelance web/graphic designer so my biggest concern is if I could do this with the MacBook Air, or if the Pro is more suitable for the job.

I don't mind about portability so, if the Pro is definitely the way to go I could handle that.

Thanks.

Guacho

Jun 20, 2009
Visit site
for video editing it's a good idea to go with the pro's, I was in the same situation and I decided to go with the new 27" iMac, it just didn't make sense to spend 2.200 dollars on the 15" retina when I can get the iMac for around 2000 and get better performance for my photography software, up to 32gb RAM, screen size, quadcore, etc.
For portability I'll get an 11" Macbook air next year..

Alli

Apr 28, 2009
Visit site
There are two big differences between the Air and the Pro. The first, obviously is the size/weight. The 13" Air is a lot thinner and lighter than the 13" Pro. The second major difference - and the reason I finally got rid of my Air and moved to the Pro - is the hard drive space available. You are extremely limited on the Air, and can't upgrade, while you can start with a much larger drive on the Pro and upgrade later, if you so choose.

anon(4698833)

Banned
Sep 7, 2010
Visit site