Complete Mac Newbie having issues...PLEASE HELP!

jblank

Mar 24, 2013
Visit site
I'm a complete newb to Mac's, but I bought a Macbook Air 11 that is a couple of years old, but in PRISTINE condition, with a very healthy battery, according to all indicators. It has, what I've been told, a below average amount of charge cycles and performs fine when being used, away from AC power.

My issue is this, when I stop using it and close the lid, the machine drops about 25% in battery power, a day. I've turned off things like Power Nap, and done several Google searches on the subject (which seems to be relatively common, but not universal) and tried a thing or two, but never gotten any definitive explanation of why it happens, or read any suggestions that have markedly improved the issue. I know they're completely different, but I have a real energy hog of a laptop for work and I can close the lid on it and it won't drop 25% in battery power in a month.

I'm kind of out of ideas and being as I'm a Mac/OS X neophyte, I'm in need of some experts. I'll try anything! For the record, it's running El Capitan.

Thank you!

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
I don't know what to tell you except to make a genius bar appointment with the nearest Apple Store to have them diagnose the issue for you.

Blake Dolinger

Oct 24, 2015
Visit site
This may be a long shot. Trying putting your computer to sleep before you shut the lid. If there is a sensor not recognizing that the lid is closed internal processes may not be shut down. This is a hail mary long shot.

OZsMac

Mar 22, 2014
Visit site
As this machine was second hand, may I ask if you completed a fresh OSX install when you got it. If you didn't, this would be my first step.