In a way, it has for me. I use my iPad more then my laptop when it comes to being mobile. I even thought of my next computer purchase being a desktop for the sake of better performance and just use my iPad when I want to be on the go web brosweing.
    10-28-2010 10:24 AM
    I don't use a desktop anymore but I am more and more dissapointed in my iPad. I find that I often have to get out my notebook to look at web pages that the iPad can't see because it doesn't support Flash. Really annoying!
    10-28-2010 08:53 PM
    Not at all... I have been using a laptop of one flavor or another since 1996. I'm not a hardcore gamer, and both my Windows laptops (in the past) and my current MacBook Pro serve me well. No desire to go back to a fixed, heavy, non-portable desktop for any reason. In fact, the iPad has simply reinforced my feeling that "mobile computing" is the way to go...
    10-28-2010 09:01 PM
    I'm frequently surprised that desktops are still manufactured and sold. They don't offer any more than a laptop these days unless you are the kind of person who prefers a custom build. I have more (everything) on my laptop with a dock at home than I have on my desktop at work.
    10-29-2010 06:47 AM
    I use the desktop only for games. Unfortunately you can't beat the performance of a desktop computer when it comes to state of the art video games.
    10-29-2010 07:17 AM
    I agree with lorin. All my games are in my desktop though I have a few like Modern Warfare in my HP DV5 ( gaming laptop), it is smoother playing it on desktop.
    10-29-2010 07:32 AM
    In a way, it has for me. I use my iPad more then my laptop when it comes to being mobile. I even thought of my next computer purchase being a desktop for the sake of better performance and just use my iPad when I want to be on the go web brosweing.
    I have done exactly that,

I now have a desktop for performance and an iPad just for web browsing and checking mail etc.:o