Research for Oakland University

jamacint

Feb 17, 2009
Visit site
I am currently a student at Oakland UNiversity in Rochester, Michigan. In my rhetoric class we are doing studies about the culture of forums and blogs that talk about a specific issue, an this case the ipod/iphone culture. For this study we need somebody from these forums to answer some questions. If you are willing to answer a few questions it would be greatly appreciated and helpful to my research.
1. What makes you a person that people will take advice from? Dou you have more expertise in the field or are you just really interested in the subject?
2. Is there any one thing in the posts on this sites that occurs the most? What do most people come to this site for?
3. Do you think that people whom read posts on this site take it seriously or just to get sugesstions.
4. Is there a problem on here with people posting irrelevant or unthought topics.
5. What is the best thing about these blogs?
Your answers would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Jordan A. MacIntosh

melwan

Dec 3, 2008
Visit site
I will take a shot at these question :)

1. I usually only answer questions that I have the correct answer for. I make sure the answer works 100% and when people try the suggestion, most of them find it that it works. I don't have outside experience in this subject, but I am tech-oriented and really really interested in the iPhone in general.

2. I would say the majority of posters are here to seek help with different issues they face with the iPhone/iPod Touch. There are also many readers that target the App Reviews (but they don't necessarily post about it).

3. It depends on the nature of the question. For jail-breaking or modifications, for example, most posters/readers take the responses seriously. On the other hand, if it's a post about choosing, let's say, a case, then the responses are really suggestions and it's still up to the original poster to choose which response to take.