New MacBook or another MacBook Pro?

I

iMore Question

I am trying to decide which computer to buy. I have a late 2013 MacBook Pro 13" w/4GB and 126flash. I am not a "gamer," do very little with iPhoto, almost no editing; have about 4000 songs on iMusic; do not store movies etc.. I am a writer (a lot of word stuff). I sit with my lap-top literally on my lap and write, sometimes while listening to music. All of that to say, I know nothing of the new 12" MacBook, but it seems like a good choice for me instead of another Pro. What does anyone think out there? I know I need 8GB and 256flash.

Hendri Hendri

Feb 1, 2015
Visit site
Re: New MacBook or another MacBook Pro???

For writing new macbook will be comfortable and nice ;) beautiful, thin, light, nice keyboard and new touchpad. But for gaming, editing, huge file transfer, would be better with pro

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site

I'm with Karen. I recommend keeping your current MacBook Pro. You're not doing enough to warrant a new computer, in my opinion. Having said that, if you must upgrade, I think you'd be better off with the new MacBook. The Pro is definitely overkill for your usage....;)

Robotb52

Jul 25, 2015
Visit site

Most of these questions don't have feedback from the questioner. In fact we can learn from your experience!

knotsure

Dec 13, 2014
Visit site
I am pretty sure you can upgrade your ssd in that model. It might cost a bunch to do it , but you wouldn't be spending $1400. It isn't very hard to do it yourself. I am not sure if you can upgrade the ram though.

Channan

Oct 10, 2013
Visit site