I’m new to the Mac OS scene and don’t know alot about how to keep my MacBook Pro running at peak performance. What is the best all around maintenance app I can buy?
    08-17-2022 12:47 PM
    You really don’t need an App to maintain your Mac, nor do you have to carry out anything like defragging it.
    Just_Me_D, Ed7789 and scruffypig like this.
    08-17-2022 01:48 PM
    You really don’t need an App to maintain your Mac, nor do you have to carry out anything like defragging it.
    I agree. If anything, shutdown a resource hog like Chrome on occasion. Other than that, macOS manages itself really well in my experience.
    phlamethrowre and scruffypig like this.
    08-17-2022 02:10 PM
    The biggest maintenance that I do on my Mac is exit any app I’m not actively using.

Sometimes, I review the apps that start on login in System Preferences, Users & Groups, Login Items… but that’s because I’m very picky!

Beyond that, I don’t do a whole lot.
    Just_Me_D and scruffypig like this.
    08-18-2022 12:27 AM
    Thanks for the input. I’ve always had Windows laptops so I’m accustomed to maintaining them.
    08-18-2022 09:39 AM
    I agree. If anything, shutdown a resource hog like Chrome on occasion. Other than that, macOS manages itself really well in my experience.
    I’m not using Chrome. Just Safari.
    Just_Me_D likes this.
    08-18-2022 09:39 AM
    The biggest maintenance that I do on my Mac is exit any app I’m not actively using.

Sometimes, I review the apps that start on login in System Preferences, Users & Groups, Login Items… but that’s because I’m very picky!

Beyond that, I don’t do a whole lot.
    If you are new to Macs, you should explore Mission Control and space using gestures. It’s in the system preferences. Should make using your new Mac a bit more fun.

You don’t really need to maintain macs.
    08-18-2022 10:31 AM