SSD or RAM upgrade?

Adam Cake

Oct 21, 2017
Visit site
I'm an electrical engineering student and I'm thinking of buying the MacBook pro 13 inch with touchbar(2017) and I would like to future proof it but I can afford upgrading either the RAM(to 16 GB) or SSD(to 512 GB) but I'm not sure which one is better? I don't plan on keeping a lot of pictures or videos on it? Any advice?

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
If you’re asking which to choose - more RAM or more storage, I’d go with more RAM because you can always upload your data to the cloud.

Rob Phillips

iPhone X & Apple TV Champion, Moderator
Champion
May 1, 2012
Visit site
If your choice is between SSD or a standard magnetic drive always go with SSD. RAM is much cheaper to upgrade down the road if the need arises. If the drive is already SSD before the upgrade then stick with the 256 GB SSD and upgrade the RAM.

Adam Cake

Oct 21, 2017
Visit site
I'm buying a new one so it's either buying one with 256 GB SSD and 16 GB RAM or 512 GB SSD and 8 GB RAM. I meant upgrading from the base model. Thanks for the advice guys :)

knotsure

Dec 13, 2014
Visit site
I wouldn’t need the ram and would decide for the added storage if I had to choose. What do you need?

Also, have you taken a look at Apple refurbished MacBooks? I just bought a non touch bar MacBook Pro refurb with both upgraded storage and ram. Was $300 less than brand new with same warranty. And you can buy AppleCare.

Adam Cake

Oct 21, 2017
Visit site
In my country they don't have official Apple stores ,only resellers so buying a refurbished one is not an option unfortunately.

Just_Me_D

Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
I wouldn’t need the ram and would decide for the added storage if I had to choose. What do you need?