First time Macbook owner

MKRogers20

Apr 20, 2015
Visit site
I am a graduate student looking to purchase a Macbook. I have always used a PC, and while I have not experienced any problems, I am in need of a portable, high-speed, reliable laptop for school and work purposes. I am considering the Macbook Pro with Retina display, but I am also exploring the option of buying an Air.

I mainly use my device for research, writing and editing documents, studying, watching Netflix, etc., but I will soon be teaching, too. I have concerns that my PC will not function properly during in-class presentations (I will be using Prezi, YouTube, etc.), which is why I am purchasing a Macbook. I also need a computer that is fast and light with long battery life. I don't operate many programs at the same time, and I definitely won't be using Final Cut Pro or other high-tech editing programs.

My biggest concern is that I will not be able to use Windows software such as Microsoft Word, Excel, and Powerpoint; I use all of these programs at school and work. How much will it cost to install them? Will they run smoothly on the Macbook?

I am considering the Macbook Pro with Retina display, but I am also exploring the option of buying an Air. I certainly am not buying a 15" because I can't afford it and I need a small, easily portable laptop.

I use Macbooks and iMacs at work, and I have picked up on the operations fairly easily, so I should not have trouble switching from a PC. I just need a machine that is fast, light, and easy-to-use. I also would be thrilled to have longer battery life (my PC lasts a whopping 2 hours!).

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated! I am also very concerned with getting a good value on my Macbook. I have been saving up for a while, so this purchase is a big deal! Thank you in advance!!

Bigeric23

Aug 17, 2010
Visit site