Replace MBA & iMac setup with rMBP? But which one?

DesignMike

Dec 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi,

I'm a graphic designer who travels and works from home quite often... more often than I like. Currently, I'm using at the office an iMac Intel Core i5 2.X GHz with 12GB RAM and then travel with a MBA 2.13 GHz Core 2 Duo with 4GB RAM. I use a portable drive to transfer files, fonts, etc. that way I can plug it from one system to another and have all of my files. But I have to manually maintain with the server at the office, which can be a pain. (Note, I also have an iMac Intel Core 2 Duo 3.06 GHz with 4GB RAM at home that I use for the display. But generally run from the MBA because I don't want to have to run another license of Adobe Creative Suite, it's just too pricey.)

A little about my work needs - I don't do a lot of video editing, but do a LOT of Photoshop CC/CS6 work with big files for catalogs, tradeshows, etc. Some files are up to the 2GB Photoshop Max... but often in the 200-300mb range for a PSD. And often need many programs open including Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign (all at once). So far, I've been getting along fine with this arrangement. The MBA is great for the travel. But sometimes I find myself going to the office on the weekends because the iMac is much faster, I'm thinking due to RAM most significantly, and then processor.

I'm considering the fully loaded MBA vs. a rMBP - But here's my main thought... If I put the money into the rMBP, I could feasibly work from the rMBP all the time and use the iMac as a display at the office and at home in Target Disc Mode or just slaving the display.