Switching to MacOS?

dancing-bass

Dec 31, 2011
Visit site
So I'll be looking at a replacement for my ancient desktop PC. I've always used Windows, never used MacOS. And, it's pretty much all personal use. My main use case currently is photo editing (Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop) and dabbling a bit in video editing using DaVinci Resolve. I'm also relatively new to the Apple ecosystem - I picked up the iP11 in August 2020.

I might be looking at some online/distance learning this fall as well, mostly for personal development but also building towards changing careers, because I'm maxed out in my current situation career wise.

Anyway. I've heard lots of good stuff about the new M1 Macbooks. A little spendy for me, but not far off what I'd be looking at for a windows laptop for editing and possible school work. How much of a learning curve is there? Are there things that Windows (as an OS) does better that Mac? Are there advantages that Mac has over Windows? Aside from the usual "its the ecosystem!" stuff... I'm talking the OS itself, how it handles various tasks, and is it worth re-learning a new OS? I don't THINK I'll be needing any specialized or specific software anytime soon, although is that something I should worry about (for one OS or the other?)

Tips, advice, links to YouTube, whatever. I'm curious, and I figured this would be a good place to start some research. Thanks in advance!

gnirkatto

Nov 4, 2017
Visit site
I moved to a Mac, a little more than one year ago, after 30+ years on Windows. I do not regret it at all.
The quirks and stupidities that you constantly have to deal with when using Windows, are very limited on the Mac. I would say if there are 10 stupidities on Windows that annoy you, there is only one on the Mac.