question about jailbrake backups

mitch1211

Feb 10, 2013
Visit site
Hi everyone

I'm new to the jail break world. Used evasi0n to jailbreak my iPhone 5 and loving it so far. My question is
? do I continue backing up my iPhone through iTunes?
? will restoring from any backup get rid of the jailbreak?
? does restoring from a backup made after jail breaking have any effect on the phone?

Thanks a lot :)

Ipheuria

Jul 21, 2009
Visit site
1. yes you continue to back your phone through iTunes or iCloud just like normal
2. yes if you restore your phone it will remove the jailbreak, a restore is a two part process even though they use the same name for the process. First you restore or reload the OS which is what gets rid of the Jailbreak then you're prompted if you want to restore from your backup.
3. This is a hard question to answer, personally I don't see any problems but others will tell you that it will lead to corruption and stability issues. I have been permanently JBen for the last 5 years and I've restored my iPhones many, many times and had no issues whatsoever but every person is different. Every Jailbreak is different because different people load up different tweaks and apps so it's really hard to give you a definite answer on this one.

AmpedPotato

Dec 9, 2012
Visit site
Hi everyone

I'm new to the jail break world. Used evasi0n to jailbreak my iPhone 5 and loving it so far. My question is
? do I continue backing up my iPhone through iTunes?
? will restoring from any backup get rid of the jailbreak?
? does restoring from a backup made after jail breaking have any effect on the phone?

Thanks a lot :)

Yes you can continue backing up via iTunes. I saved my pre-jailbreak backups just in case. In Windows they are located in %appdata%\Apple Computer\MobileSync . Just make a copy of the MobileSync folder. Not sure about Mac. Here's a page with the locations :-

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4946