iOS 6 / iOS 6.1 Untethered Jailbreak For iPhone 5 / iPhone 4S Is Ready, Confirms Pod2G

Highrisedrifter

Sep 19, 2012
Visit site
Re: iOS 6 / iOS 6.1 Untethered Jailbreak For iPhone 5 / iPhone 4S Is Ready, Confi...

The whole reasoning behind doing it through iTunes is that if you want to ever downgrade or re-restore you need the correct ramdisk, ap tickets and shsh blobs, which are NOT correct if you do OTA or update through iTunes. The dev team recommends a full backup-restore to get the correct items and then save them. It will not affect the jailbreak, but possibly other tools in the future.

As a complete noob at jailbreaking, can I just clarify something please?

If I follow you correctly, do you mean

1) Connect to itunes via cable
2) Back up phone
3) Restore the phone using that just saved backup
4) Now have the correct blobs etc in case you need to downgrade/get rid of the JB
5) Now you can update to 6.1 via iTunes

iDonev

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
Re: iOS 6 / iOS 6.1 Untethered Jailbreak For iPhone 5 / iPhone 4S Is Ready, Confi...

As a complete noob at jailbreaking, can I just clarify something please?

If I follow you correctly, do you mean

1) Connect to itunes via cable
2) Back up phone
3) Restore the phone using that just saved backup
4) Now have the correct blobs etc in case you need to downgrade/get rid of the JB
5) Now you can update to 6.1 via iTunes

You almost got it!

1. Connect iPhone to iTunes via cable.
2. Do a backup.
3. Open this site and download the iOS 6.1 firmware for your device.
4. In iTunes hold the Shift/Option key on your keyboard and hit Restore.
5. Navigate to the 6.1 firmware you downloaded in step 3.
6. When the restore is complete you'll be on 6.1. Now restore from the backup you made in step 2 to restore your apps and data.

Last edited:

WreakingHavoc

Aug 10, 2010
Visit site
You almost got it!

1. Connect iPhone to iTunes via cable.
2. Do a backup.
3. Open this site and download the iOS 6.1 firmware for your device.